This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: September 24, 2015
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260,

Governor McAuliffe Awards Extended Year and Year-Round School Grants to 10 School Divisions


RICHMOND - Governor Terry McAuliffe today awarded nearly $5.3 million in state year-round and extended school year grants to support the development and implementation of year-round instructional programs in 54 schools in 10 school divisions.

The Extended School Year Grant Program was created by in 2013 by the General Assembly in response to a 2012 Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) report on the effectiveness of year-round school programs in raising student achievement.

“The success of teachers, students and leadership at A.P. Hill Elementary in Petersburg adds to the evidence that extended-year programs can make a difference in narrowing and eradicating achievement gaps,” Governor McAuliffe said. “Innovative approaches are essential to preparing all of our students to succeed in the new Virginia economy we are building.”

A.P. Hill Elementary adopted a year-round program last August. Students achieved a 22-point gain in English and 29-point gains in mathematics and science on SOL tests taken at the end of the year.

“These grants will help more of our localities establish bold and exciting new programs,” Secretary of Education Anne Holton said. “The kind that pave the way for student success and unleash a school’s true potential.”

“The extended year model helps reduce the summer learning loss many students experience, especially in our challenged schools,” Superintendent of Public Instruction Steven R. Staples said.

The 2015 General Assembly authorized up to $7,150,000 during fiscal year 2016 for start-up grants of up to $300,000 per school for up to two years after the initial implementation of an extended year program. Grants of up to $400,000 are authorized for schools denied state accreditation.

First- and second-year start-up grants were awarded to support new and existing year-round or extended-year programs in the following divisions and schools:

  • Bristol — $233,614 for existing programs at Highland View Elementary, Joseph Van Pelt Elementary, Stonewall Jackson Elementary and Washington-Lee Elementary
  • Charlottesville — $239,740 for new programs at Burnley-Moran Elementary, Clark Elementary, Greenbrier Elementary, Jackson-Via Elementary, Johnson Elementary, Venable Elementary and Walker Upper Elementary
  • Henrico County — $173,325 for existing programs at Baker Elementary, John Rolfe Middle and Varina High; and $153,236 for an existing program at the College Readiness Center at L. Douglas Wilder Middle
  • Loudoun County — $157,681 for an existing program at Middleburg Community Charter School
  • Lynchburg — $368,318 for new programs at Bedford Hills Elementary, Dunbar Middle, E.C. Glass High, Heritage Elementary, Heritage High, Hutcherson Early Learning Center, Linkhorne Elementary, Linkorne Middle, Paul Munro Elementary, Perrymont Elementary, R.S. Payne Elementary, Sandusky Middle, T.C. Miller Elementary and William Marvin Bass Elementary
  • Manassas Park — $300,000 for new programs at Cougar Elementary, Manassas Park Elementary, Manassas Park Middle and Manassas Park High
  • Newport News — $1.2 million for new programs at Jenkins Elementary, Newsome Park Elementary and Sedgefield Elementary
  • Petersburg — $700,000 for existing programs at A.P. Hill Elementary and Peabody Middle
  • Radford —  $212,240 for existing programs at Belle Heth Elementary, Dalton Intermediate, McHarg Elementary and Radford High
  • Roanoke — $527,987 for new programs at the Academy for Mathematics and Science Elementary, Garden City Elementary and Lincoln Terrace Elementary; and $828,074 for existing programs at Fallon Park Elementary, Hurt Park Elementary and Westside Elementary

Extended year planning grants were awarded to the following divisions to support the development of new year-round programs:

  • Henrico County — $38,238 for Brookland Middle and Fairfield Elementary
  • Petersburg — $150,000 for J.E.B. Stuart Elementary, Robert E. Lee Elementary and Walnut Hill Elementary

The legislature also authorized $613,312 in year-round school planning grants of up to $50,000 per school, with priority for schools not meeting state and federal achievement and accountability standards.

A second extended school year grant competition will be announced later this year.